Setup Menu

Sell Your Photos And Videos Online

Learn Digital Photography Now

Get Instant Access

At the risk of being labeled conventional, I suggest that you start your camera customization by opening this menu, shown in Figure 1-15.

Here's a quick rundown of each menu item:

✓ Auto Power Off: To help save battery power, your camera automatically powers down after a certain period of inactivity. By default, the shutdown happens after 30 seconds, but you can change the shutdown delay to 1, 2, 4, 8, or 15 minutes. Or you can disable auto shutdown altogether by selecting the Off setting.

Figure 1-15: Options on Setup Menu 1 deal mainly with basic camera behavior.

✓ File Numbering: This option controls how the camera names your picture files. When the option is set to Continuous, as it is by default, the camera numbers your files sequentially, from 0001 to 9999, and places all images in the same folder. The initial folder name is 100Canon; when you reach image 9999, the camera creates a new folder, named 101Canon, for your next 9999 photos. This numbering sequence is retained even if you change memory cards, which helps to ensure that you don't wind up with multiple images that have the same file name.

By contrast, the Auto Reset option automatically starts file numbering at 0001 each time you put in a different memory card. I discourage the use of this option, for the reason already stated.

Whichever of these two options you choose, beware one gotcha: If you swap out memory cards and the new card already contains images, the camera may pick up numbering from the last image on the new card, which throws a monkey wrench into things. To avoid this problem, just format the new card before putting it into the camera. (See the upcoming Format bullet point for details.)

Finally, if you choose Manual Reset, the camera begins a new numbering sequence, starting at 0001, for your next shot. The Continuous mode is then automatically selected for you again.

✓ Auto Rotate: If you enable this feature, your picture files include a piece of data that indicates whether the camera was oriented in the vertical or horizontal position when you shot the frame. Then, when you view the picture on the camera monitor or on your computer, the image is automatically rotated to the correct orientation.

To automatically rotate images both in the camera monitor and on your computer monitor, stick with the default setting. In the menu, this setting is represented by On followed by a camera icon and a monitor icon, as shown in Figure 1-15. If you want the rotation to occur just on your computer and not on the camera, select the second On setting, which is marked with the computer monitor symbol but not the camera symbol. To disable rotation for both devices, choose the Off setting.

Note, though, that the camera may record the wrong orientation data for pictures that you take with the camera pointing directly up or down. Also, whether your computer can read the rotation data in the picture file depends on the software you use; the programs bundled with the camera can perform the auto rotation.

✓ Format: The first time you insert a new memory card, you should use this option to format the card, a maintenance function that wipes out any existing data on the card and prepares it for use by the camera.

If you previously used your card in another device, such as a digital music player, be sure to copy those files to your computer before you format the card.

When you choose the Format option from the menu, you can opt to perform a normal card formatting process or a low-level formatting. The latter gives your memory card a deeper level of cleansing than ordinary formatting and thus takes longer to perform. Normally, a regular formatting will do.

✓ LCD Off/On Btn: This option gives you three ways to control when the monitor displays and turns off the Shooting Settings screen. At the default setting, named Shutter Btn, the screen appears when you first turn the camera on, disappears when you press the shutter button halfway, and then reappears after you release the shutter button. The screen remains visible until you next press the shutter button or the camera shuts itself off automatically at the time you specify through the Auto Power Off option. (See the first bullet in this list.)

If you select the second option, named Shutter/DISP, the screen disappears when you press the shutter button halfway and does not reappear when you release the button. You then must press the Set or DISP button to view the screen. And if you select the third option, Remains On, the screen does not go away when you press the shutter button halfway; you must press Set or DISP to turn the monitor off.

Because the monitor is one of the biggest drains on battery power, I don't advise using the Remains On setting. And while using this book, I suggest you stick with the default setting so that things work as described in steps and other text.

✓ Screen Color: I cover this option earlier, in the section that introduces the Shooting Settings screen, but here's a quick reminder: If you don't like the default background color of the Shooting Settings display, which is white text on a black background, you can choose from three other color schemes via this menu option.

For this book, I use color scheme 2, which produces black text on a white background, which is a little easier to read on the printed page.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
100 Photography Tips

100 Photography Tips

To begin with your career in photography at the right path, you need to gather more information about it first. Gathering information would provide you guidance on the right steps that you need to take. Researching can be done through the internet, talking to professional photographers, as well as reading some books about the subject. Get all the tips from the pros within this photography ebook.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment